Last Days of Summer

sunflower  “I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” ― Groucho Marx

As I sit and mumble all day and mope around; the winds outside bluster with threats of more rain. For me, this is a sad time of year when summer comes to an end.

It always happens in a blink of an eye. Whooosh, like the gusts outdoors.. summer has faded and fall swiftly rushes in. Goodbye summer.

No time to say goodbye to the sunshiny summer days, to the basking and frolicking to my hearts content.

Oh how I love what the warm days offer.. to dress down in less cumbersome clothes, to discard the woolly blankets and feel the cool sheets refresh my skin.

Refreshed in the early morning as I slowly wake to the sound of birds singing in the trees. In the distance I can hear the squirrels scuffling to get morsels of food before I chase them out of my garden.

summer treeAs I hurry to the window, I spy the last few deer nibbling on the grass before the hustle and bustle begins.

What shall the day bring, a picnic in the park, a hike on one of the magnificent trails in Glacier Park or maybe a day at the fair with my granddaughter?

Or perhaps a walk to the market to get an ice cream. This cold and creamy treat just isn’t the same in winter.

So much to do, so little time. Only in my memories. These glorious lazy days of summer are past.

So greet the dog days of summer while they last.  For as you grow old,  the days rush by faster each year. Days quickly turn to weeks, then months and alas years. Seize the day!  Within an instant, my summer is gone. 😦

And as Groucho says, ” I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.”  Farewell summer, come back soon.

Hello fall, so crisp with fresh air, so clean and filled with splendid colors. All the bustling about, gathering of the harvest for winters cold and harsh days.

carousel and ambrosiaRun squirrels, run. Gather your food before winter begins. For me, hike the trails and bike while I can. Work in the garden excessively.Eat, play and work some more.

Maybe a day at the park feeding the ducks. Or an outdoor celebration with my granddaughter.

We will dine on the last bit of goodies from the many plants that are putting forth their final crop of the season. Tomatoes, basil, corn, melon, squash plus lemon balm and mint for tea. And since the days are a bit cooler, some homemade bread would be perfect for the occasion. Oh what a feast.

In this post are many of the pictures I took the last days of summer. Little did I know, it soon came to an end. I do hope the pics bring joy and contentment.

~~~~

Ah, below is a pic of sea buckthorn. Such an amazing bush. Yes, it has thorns. But notice how the bright orange berries grow in clusters towards the middle of the branches and not the tips. A very unique plant indeed. And healthy.

sea buckthorn berries

One for the road! Hope you had a lovely summer!

Sea Buckthorn berries:

sea buckthorn

One thought on “Last Days of Summer

Leave a Reply

