A beeswax-and-lavender butter and a pear-and-black-grape delight

What a great shot!

Mrs Apis Mellifera

frostedrose

The frost fairies left their sparkle on cars and rooftops every morning this week. On Saturday there was plenty of crisp sunshine to continue winter checks on the bees.

Afterwards I went home to warm up in the kitchen. It’s been so chilly that my skin was feeling chapped and dry. I’m also trying to be healthier, which means eating as much fruit as I do cake. So I made a couple of recipes that are fun and easy to do: a comforting beeswax-and-lavender butter for winter skin, and a delicious poached pear with black grapes and honey for cake-filled beekeepers.

Beeswax-and-lavender butter
Lavender is an old friend. I have used the herb and the essential oil since I was a teenager for homemade lotions and potions. My grandmother would make buckets of lavender water from the bushes in our garden. She taught me to pick the lavender when the bees were feeding, because they…

View original post 716 more words

4 thoughts on “A beeswax-and-lavender butter and a pear-and-black-grape delight

      • Well , now I am confused. I have enough problems keeping tracking of one blog. One of the things I especially liked today was your reblog of Emma the bee lady’s frosted roses and beeswax and lavender cream.

        Like

      • Yes, isn’t that a lovely pic! Well, stunning is more like it.. To make matters confusing, WP puts all my comments from all my sites in the same dropdown (upper right). Convenient, yes Confusing, very. It is Travels with Mary that I posted bee lady’s frosted roses and beeswax and lavender cream..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

