I know what you new vegans are thinking, “Ganache? Authentic ganache cannot be vegan!”. Maybe you weren’t thinking that, but believe me, when discussing “authentic” ganache with certified pastry chefs (or people who just think they are pastry chefs) the inevitable questions about the compatibility of veganism and pâtisseries or pastries, always rear their ugly head. When I mention that I don’t use dairy crème liquide or even cow’s milk, accusations and name-calling usually ensue. Seriously.
I realise that in France we have a certain fierté or pride, concerning our pastries and our culinary traditions. This is understandable, given the international reputation our sweet treats have. The general belief is that in order to cultivate the authentic “frenchness” of our recipes, tradition must be respected. Unfortunately, the cult of authenticity often attracts blind followers.
What does “authentic” mean to you? For some people, it’s about following the recipe by the…
View original post 345 more words