Apple Gingerbread Upside-Down Cake

Yum! Now I am really hungry!

Ann Arbor Vegan Kitchen

Apple Gingerbread Upside-Down Cake

I’ve read that our sense of smell has the longest memory of all of our five senses. Doesn’t that seem particularly true this time of year?

I first made this Apple Gingerbread Upside-Down Cake last autumn. As it baked, I fell in love with its spicy gingerbread fragrance. I was fascinated that all this flavor might be possible without a trace of white flour, white sugar, or processed oils. As the apples and cinnamon baked with ginger, nutmeg, and molasses, I was held captive waiting for the cake to come out the oven. And it turned out to be as good as I hoped.

I tucked the recipe away after the winter for several months, still remembering those wonderful flavors. Spring and summer came and went. I counted down until apple season, because I think October and this cake just fit like a glove.

At long last, here we are. Fresh Michigan…

View original post 318 more words

Leave a Reply

