Italy east

What a great bike tour!

mike on bike

With nothing but tailwinds and sunshine, the ride from Rome was less difficult and a whole lot more interesting than I ever expected.

Mountains as seen on bicycle tour of central Italy. The open road in central Italy

Crossing the mountains that run like a spine down the middle of Italy was a cinch, though my love-hate relationship with tunnels is once again on the rocks.

The big tunnels – some as long as five kilometers – were deafening with the rumble of truck engines, and I had to pick my way around countless mice that call the darkness home.

Back in the daylight, and on the open road, I came to San Marino, a tiny republic not far from the Adriatic Sea.

All day I climbed a steep, twisting road to the border, and when I crossed over, sunburned and exhausted, I realized I still wasn’t there. I was somewhere near the bottom of there. San Marino proper…

View original post 345 more words

Leave a Reply

